8th Blyth Sea Scout 
Badges & Awards

The Scouting programme enables the Scouts, Cubs & Beavers to gain various badges and awards. Below are the different types of badges and awards that can be gained in Scouting. The leaders will build as many of the badge requirements into the weekly programme as possible, but some of the badges can't be done in our sessions. Therefore, if you wish to do some of the badges at home please complete the comments form on the contact page and we will be able to send you the requirements for the badge.


Please click here to view a diagram showing the positions of the badges on the shirts and sweatshirts.

Gold Award - Scouts

Plus two from:

Bronze Award - Beavers


Silver Award - Cubs

Chief Scout Awards

The Chief Scout's Awards are the highest award in each Scouting Section. In order to gain the award a Scout, Cub & Beaver must complete the following:

Challenge Awards

The Challenge Badges are designed to enable a Scout, Cub & Beaver to develop a range of skills. In order to gain a Challenge Badge they must complete a variety of different activities. There are 9 challenge badges for Scouts, 7 for Cubs & 6 for Beavers.





Staged Activity Awards

The Staged Activity Badges have been designed to provide a unified approach throughout the Sections.

All the Staged Activity Badges have 5 stages, except Nights Away - which has 12 and Hikes Away, which has six. This means that a young person can gain whichever badge is appropriate to the level they have reached. It is possible, for example, for a Beaver Scout who is an excellent swimmer to gain a higher level badge than a Scout who has just taken up the activity.



Activity Awards

The Activity Badges are designed to recognise a particular interest or skill. In order to gain an Activity Badge a Scout, Cub & Beaver must complete set tasks within the interest or skill. In total there are 70 Activity Badges for Scouts, 34 for Cubs & 12 for Beavers.